top of page

Values in Life

It's good to have values. It makes part of who we are and how we act around people. Things like empathy and compassion will go a long way in the way we treat others.


I asked my fans what their values were. It didn't take long to get replies back. I was very happy about that. As it turns out, they have the same values I have.


  • Treat others the way "I" want to be treated.

  • Empathy

  • Lifelong learning

  • Understanding others

  • Generosity/Charity

  • Compassion


I learned a long time ago, I didn't enjoy being treated the way I was treated--like I was the scum of the earth. But I didn't return those actions because I knew what it felt like. I promised myself that I would teach my children the importance of treating others with respect and kindness. When I finally had my chance, I did my best even when I didn't have custody of the kids. As much as I hated my parents, I didn't treat them with the same hatred they showed me.


Having an open mind has helped me understand other people's point of view. I think that's important. If your mind is closed, you can't put yourself in their shoes. You don't have to agree with them, but showing them respect is still important. You can disagree and still have a healthy relationship with someone. It takes two people to make any relationship work--even among friends. Showing them compassion and empathy is part of that.


Being generous doesn't mean giving everything away. You do have to set limits. Sometimes, keeping things to yourself is important, but you have to know where that limit is and make others aware of that limit. I had to learn that long time ago and I'm still learning in ways. For some people, I have a hard time setting that limit and it happens. I'm still growing. Are you?


That just means we can be a better person tomorrow than we were today. So, if you're anything like me, make this promise right now. "I promise that I will work on myself. I will find the things that need help in my life and work on them so that tomorrow I can be a better person. I will find my limits and make sure people know there's a line and I won't cross it." I hope you said it with me. Now go work on those areas in your life that need help and promise yourself that you will at least try.


In the comments below, let me know what your strengths and weaknesses are. What are your values? What will you do to better yourself? I'd love to read them. Thank you so much!




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page