top of page

Tip on Marketing...

I've been learning all about marketing because, well, I'm not good at it. Everyone has something different to say. Do it this way, no do it that way. Do this the way I say and you'll sell thousands of copies and get a number 1 seller! Yeah, they don't always work. Some of the people, say they have everything right--send them money and you'll have it right too. I've never fallen for that scheme, so I don't know if it's accurate, but it sounds like that's how they make their money--from people like us, trying to sell our books. I've tried so many different things that these people say will 100% work, so I know some things DON'T work.


It made me think--I'm a writer, it's all I do lol. Why can't I just be me. After all, it's worked for the last 47 years. Right? So, instead of throwing in the towel, I am approaching marketing a little differently this year--I am taking things one day at a time and doing things my way. So here's this month's tip...

  1. Don't do what they "tell you". Be brave and be yourself. If you're quirky, then be quirky. If you're serious, be serious. Especially, if your books have those qualities.

  2. Focus on the book. If your book is about (or has) something in the plot like "adoption", share posts about adoption. Focus on the theme and post subjects that fall within the boundaries of that theme, subject, etc. As I said, don't do it because I said to, but if you want to give this a try it's at least an idea to post about. You can't talk about your book all the time, but you can share things inside the book that will intrigue your readers. Earlier, I mentioned one of my characters has a catch-phrase, you can share a post about funny phrases from other books.

  3. Color choices. So many people say use your brand colors, some say go with the genre colors, blah, blah... Go with what works for you and your brand. One thing may work for one book and not for another so keep playing around with it as time permits. In my opinion, you have to be flexible for this reason.

  4. Be consistent. This part I do agree with. When you look at your posts in unison, you do want them to look good together. Use a pattern of your choosing, but be consistent with it in an overall appearance.

  5. Don't get hung up. If your launch doesn't go well, it's okay because the book will be there tomorrow. It could still sell after the launch fizzles out. It just means your audience needs time to find you. Get started on the next book and focus on it. Occasionally, you can tackle your "backlist" so people don't forget about them, but be creative. Also, you do want to see what other writers in your genres are doing. Maybe they have something you don't. Don't copy them, but allow them to guide you along your journey, blending things together that work for you. I'm still learning about this one and it takes time.

This is my first year trying this method, so we'll see how it goes. If you have ideas that have worked for you please email me. I'd love to hear your thoughts on marketing. Thank you!! I'd love to come back to this topic again later in the year. Maybe, I'll have something new to share. Let's cross our fingers!!




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page