top of page

Tip of the Month (from newsletter)

Updated: Dec 3, 2023

I am always thinking outside of the box. Maybe that's why my writing is so original lol. And some of them are weird, to say the least, but I'm weird, so it's okay. This month I'd like to share ideas for around the house that is a little unique. I've shared something similar in the past, but not quite like this lol.

  • I love drawers because you can fill them up and hide what's inside. They can be cluttered but no one would ever know lol. I decided to put the two sets beside each other and use them to lift up the printer. Now printing will be so much easier while having what I need close by at the same time. The drawer set on the right is filled with my writing supplies while the set on the left has all of the household stuff. The big drawer set keeps my printing paper.

  • The cabinet on the bathroom sink used to be in the "kitchen" area of our little room. I wanted to change things around so I put it in the bathroom. The door didn't open in the right direction so I flipped it upside down. Who says the right side up is the best position all the time? Gotta think differently to suit your needs! Now it works just right! And everything is hidden away. No clutter now!

  • I've had my closet hanging set for a long time. It was always kept in the closet too. After moving into a hotel, I needed the extra shelves to store things like our plates and such. Kind of sucks when you have limited space. Shelves like this not only save on space, but it adds a decorative touch lol. And it hides my clothes (they are behind it). It has pockets on three sides, which are also used to store things. I keep some of my sweets there as well lol!

  • Did I mention I love drawers? I have another set like the one next to the printer (the bigger set), only it's on wheels. I use it in the kitchen area for the silver wear and cook wear. On top of it, I have two wooden boxes with part of the front cut out (they come like that). I use that for chips, can openers, etc. Everything is handy for when I need to pull out the electric skillet or slow cooker. I miss having a stove, but those things come in handy. I can cook almost everything you can in your kitchen.

  • Tubs also come in handy. We have two to store food but we also use them as a side table. Double use! The rest of them are stored under the bed (for out-of-season clothes, pans and microwave bowls, and snacks). We have smaller ones too. Some are under the bed and two are under the sink in the bathroom. They are great for keeping things clean and out of the way so there's no clutter. I can't stand clutter.

  • We don't have a TV stand, and that's okay. We use the top of the dresser. My husband uses the bottom two drawers for his clothes. The top drawer is our "catch-all" drawer. Every house I've ever visited and lived in has had one of those drawers somewhere in the house. I think the whole universe uses them. In fact, my grandfather had one in their farmhouse. It was in the bathroom and he kept his tools and screws in there. Don't ask me why, but that was his go-to when he needed an extra screw or hammer lol. I tried cleaning it out once to make room for washcloths but he said "no, use another drawer, that's mine." and I laughed.

  • Did you know thumbtacks are good for hanging some pictures? They leave a way smaller hole in the wall too. They won't hold something heavy or flat, but there are many frames that have a hook of some sort to hang on. Most of my pictures are hanging on thumbtacks. My room looks like a mini apartment lol. And the owner and manager of the hotel love it. They come visit occasionally.

As I change my room and rethink how to use things, I will share them. Keep looking for new ideas. If you have any ideas of your own, please reply with them! I'm always eager to learn. Thinking outside of the box is fun!




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page