top of page

Interview with Shelly M. Neinast




How did you decide to become a writer?

Started writing at age 15 then published first book in 2021


What inspires you, motivates you to write?

I enjoy writing fantasy mysteries as it inspires my creativity in allowing me to write whatever fantasies pop into my head at the time.


What genres do you write? Or plan to write in the future?

I currently write YA supernatural mysteries. I have started a paranormal romance book and a time travel western that are in the works in the near future.


What do you keep in your writing space?

My laptop, notebook, jumpdrive, and coffee cup full of coffee.


What is your writing routine like?

I like to get my chores done in the mornings and then usually start typing by afternoon until about 3-4 p.m.


Do you have any writing pet peeves? Yes, when I get ideas in my head late at night, and by the time I type, I forget them. I tried to sit up and write it down but I am so sleepy my mind is so groggy I forget it anyway. Also, when I try to think of certain words or phrases I want to use I can't think of exactly what I want and it angers me.


Share an inspirational story you encountered on your writing journey. My inspiration for my current books have been from experiences I have learned through my travels in Greece of mythology while living there and visiting the ruins and talking to people. Another book was when I lived in Louisiana and experienced bayou living and the world of Cajun and Creole Voodoo beliefs. Basically, my inspiration for my novels come from my past experiences and a great imagination.


The most recent release or the next book you're about to release......Share blurb and 5 reasons why someone should read that book. Include a link if already released or a pre-order link if you have one. If there are any reviews for this book, please include up tp 3 as well. Book 4 of The Twelve Gems of Murder. "The Black Diamond of Bayou Labarre" https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BSP92KVY The Blurb Amelia Flatterly a criminal investigator had recently returned from Crete to eradicate a Gorgon and a witch only a few months ago. Now, she learns that another witch from Crete who was trapped in a Sapphire gem was now loose in the Louisiana bayous. She enlists her friend Serafina and the two travel to Louisiana to find the witch and dispose of her once in for all. Only after they arrive they later find out that not only do they have to hunt down and kill a witch, they must find and destroy a hundreds-year-old creature that is half-alligator and half-human. Will the girls find and destroy both, the witch and the creature before they destroy them first? This novel is a fun fast-paced supernatural folklore read for all ages that includes paranormal creatures, Louisiana history, mystery, crime, and even a talking black cat.


Who is your ideal audience? * My books are geared for the young adult but are fun to read for any age


What sets you apart from other writers?* My novels are fun clean stories that are great to read for all ages. Also, every novel includes not only the story, but also has a section at the end of the novel that includes historical information about the topics or places in the story.


Is there another author your books are similar to? I am not sure but would compare my novels to some of the Urban fantasy novels.


What would you tell a new writer to help them get started?* Just relax and let your creative juices flow and don't worry about what others say. It is your words your book.



Follow Shelly in these locations


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page