top of page

Family Life

There are a lot of different family types out there. Here are a few types that I know about, seen, read about, and know personally...

  • Family members who are close and do for each other without asking for anything in return.

  • Family members who argue and can't stand being in the same room.

  • Family members who stab each other in the back but say, sometimes act like they love each other to their faces.

  • Friends who are more like family than friends.

  • Private people who keep their emotions to themselves. Some are kind to each other, some are cruel.

  • Combination of all types.

  • Family members who do everything together. Not always close as the first type, but not all hate each other either. Some members secretly hate another but puts feelings aside.


I think my family is the combination. I like to think I am close with my children. I have often told them they can tell us anything without judgement. Of course, our youngest tells us more than we want to hear lol. But we are close enough she feels safe to do so. And that is what I wanted. Now if I could just get her to keep somethings to herself, it would be great lol. We also have friends who are more like family than friends. That's nice. And we have very cr


uel family members on my side that I could do without. In fact, I don't speak to any of them anymore. I have taken negativity out of my life. That meant taking them out of my life. I'm better for it.


Sometimes, it is better to do that. If someone is bringing you down, family member or not, you have to do something about it. Sometimes it is hard, esp if it is a parent or sibling. There are times in your life when you must put yourself first. If that person is constantly making you feel bad about yourself, you need to make that decision--keep them at arm's length or cut ties altogether. You're not a bad person if you do that. Mental health is important and if they are bad for your health, cutting the ties may be the only thing you CAN do. Sometimes, that makes you a better person, stronger. Just remember that when you come face-to-face with the decision. Don't take it lightly but decide if it's worth it in the end. And then stick to it. And remember, people can change so if that family member comes to you and asks for forgiveness, consider it before saying no. Second chances are good, but you must evaluate everything before taking someone back. That is up to you.


Just food for thought. What do you think?




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page