top of page
Writer's pictureA.R. Grosjean, author

Why Write?


Ask an author why they write and they will tell you--each writer giving a different answer.


One will want fame and fortune, another will want "to live forever", while another may say it's a way to leave something behind. We're all different. There really isn't a wrong answer to this question for that reason. Whatever drives us to write--we do it passionately because we love it.


That's the main reason why I write--I love it. I do want to be read, which is why I publish my stories. Fame and fortune is at the bottom of the list because it would only be a bonus for me--being recognized by someone who read and possibly enjoyed one of my stories would be awesome.


Having one of my stories with a cover wrapped around it, waiting for someone to read long after I've left this world would be a nice treat. 100 years from now, people can still get know who I am through my stories and they can wonder what I was like to imagine these characters and tell their stories the way I did. It wasn't my dream when I started--I knew so little back then. I've grown A LOT since I was kid! I never really thought about things like why I write--I just wanted to write. It was a calling. I felt like I was chosen for this profession and everything I went through led me to being right where I am--a writer.


Okay, so what are all the reasons why someone writes? Let's see...


  • The story I wanted to read hadn't been written, so I wrote it.

  • I want to be read.

  • I want to leave something behind--make a mark in this world.

  • I wanted to give a gift to my children or grandchildren.

  • Money.

  • Give me something to do.

  • I love telling stories.

  • I felt the need to tell a story.

  • I know something and wanted to share it (teaching someone something).

  • I want to make people laugh, cry, or have other emotions.

  • I went through something and needed to share it in order to heal.

  • The characters in my head wouldn't shut up until I wrote their story.

  • I love it!

  • My English teacher told me I should write a story and I found out I was actually good at it.

  • I want to be famous like "_______writer".

  • Nothing else better to do.

  • I have no idea. I was just pulled into it.

  • YOUR ANSWER....


I only shared the ones I've heard over the years whether it was from an actual writer or from a group that taught writing. All the reasons why I write are pretty simple--I love it, I want to be read, I was pulled into as if I was meant for this, these ideas keep coming at me until I write them, and I can live forever (at least part of me). But the main reason is I love the writing process. Being able to share my characters' stories as they play out in my head is the most amazing gift I could give to the world. I always wanted to save it--this is my chance, one person at a time. I may not be able to save an entire world, but if I could help one or two people and they can help one or two people (and so on), maybe in a way I still can. Like the little boy who invented pay it forward (that was actually a true story!). When I saw that movie and learned it was based on a true story, I cried. For real. He and his idea will live forever and he was able to help so many people. I need to watch that movie again!!


I know I didn't mention every writer's reasons for writing, so if I missed your reason please share it below. Let's get a conversation going. Maybe we can convince that one person who is thinking about writing but hasn't made that first step yet.


Thank you!


Recent Posts

See All

टिप्पणियां


A.R. Grosjean signature
bottom of page