top of page
Writer's pictureA.R. Grosjean, author

What makes a successful day, week, or month?


This challenge came from @Writer.Friends.Challenge on Instagram. I love doing these challenges because it gives me a chance to learn about other writers and my followers/readers can learn more about me. Win-Win.


What classifies as a success? It's going to be different for everyone. I #celebrate all of my wins so for me, I have been a great success! Others may not see them, but they aren't living my life so they have no #idea.


  • Anytime I reach the end of a story--it's a #success.

  • When I have that a-ha moment, it's a success because I was able to dive into a new twist and I do love #twists! They always hit me by surprise though lol!

  • Whenever someone tells me my story touched them, it always makes me feel warm. I shed a tear over it. I do a lot of crying because it doesn't happen every day and I am reminded that I was lied to most of my life--that I was worthless. It's hard to explain, but it touches me too.


Those are the "unusual things" that aren't daily, weekly, or monthly. For me, it varies.

  • The other day, I discovered I couldn't have colored drawings in my children's picture book with the page limit I wanted. I had to choose the option available at that page count which meant, my pages had to be black and white. Okay, you're asking where the success is in that scenario. I know. Well, it turned out to be a "a-ha" moment for me. While I was #determined to make this work, I came up with a plan to make it a coloring book of sorts. So, while the child is learning, he or she can color! Kids love to color! At least I did when I was a kid--okay, I still do!

  • Since I don't write every single day like I used to, success for anything related to writing has fewer occurrences. So, when I have a day where I've written anything longer than 1K, it's a success. I had a day where I went over 3K, which surprised me and made me happy!

  • For monthly: Being able to #publish one book, have another fully edited, and write two books during that month, I believe that's a success. Any time you finish a #book, it's a success. For me, finishing another book just proves that I have this ability. Though I've never rubbed it in, I get this glow in my heart because I was told so often that I couldn't do it, it made me mad. I so wanted to walk up to those people and slap their faces. But I'm better than that. Instead, I move on to the next book as my heart fills up with joy from writing. Success.

  • For weekly: Getting a chance to #write more, getting a week's worth of posts planned, finding my pen without struggle, finding the next main #character and getting her to cooperate, listening to music while I write (yes, I can do that now!!), and still get other things done without falling over--well, you called it, that's a huge success. I stay up all night to work on my writing and other writing-related work. It used to be once a week; now it's twice a week, sometimes three times in a week's time. I'm getting a lot of work done for the little time I am working on it. Success.


Okay, so I #celebrate the little things. Shouldn't we? Every time we move in the right direction for something we love, it should be celebrated. You don't have to go out and party every time, but you can do something little like having a party inside your head. That's what I do. I don't need rewards. The act is a reward in itself and I love it. That's what happens when you do something you love. And I absolutly love to write, creating stories that live inside me. I'm putting my stamp in this world and that is the best success anyone can ask for.


So, how would you answer the question: What makes a successful day, week, or month for you?





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


A.R. Grosjean signature
bottom of page