top of page

Something I Failed. Funny Story

I got my license to drive when I was 17 years old. It took the extra time to get it because I needed to learn parallel parking and backing up a little more. I did take driver's Ed so that helped. After I got the license, my aunt swore I needed to learn how to drive a stick. She claimed that all cars would eventually be made in a stick so I would have to know how to drive one. We spent a whole day with me behind the wheel. I was not hand-foot coordinated enough to get the car into gear so the engine kept stalling. She didn't want me to fry the engine so we stopped. She claimed I would never drive again, once those vehicles turned to stick and automatics stopped being made. I laughed to myself.


A little while later, my older sister tried teaching me. I guess my aunt had a talk with her. My sister's boyfriend (they later got married) had a small car with a stick so it was smaller than my aunt's truck. It was more my size. My sister was actually nice to me during this attempt. And I almost had it, but when I shifted gears, the car jerked. No one got whiplash but my sister gave up too. I never attempted to learn how to drive a stick since lol. There are a lot of cars that are automatic so I never understood the need to learn how to drive a stick. Even semis have automatics now. I think stick-operated vehicles are the ones that are disappearing. More people want automatic, which is fine by me lol.


Do you know how to drive a stick? What was the learning process like for you? I know some people just learn easily, but it was hard for me lol.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page