top of page
Writer's pictureA.R. Grosjean, author

Mermaid Monday


Happy Monday! Today is Mermaid Monday. I love mermaids. I think they are the coolest thing. Everyone has their own interpretation for how they look and where they come from. I've seen movies and TV shows about mermaids, and have enjoyed them thoroughly. It made me want to write my own story about one or two.


I like being original so as I was thinking about how I could write my own mermaid story, I came up with this one--My Twin is a Mermaid.


Imagine finding out a family secret! First, you have a twin sister. Then you find out she's a mermaid! That's what happened to my main character in this story. And she's terrified of water and can't swim! That means trouble and she's going to have to face her fear if she wants to meet her sister! If her twin's a mermaid, does that mean she is too? We're going to have to find out!


It took forever to come up with the title and idea for the cover. I scrapped the first couple tries because I didn't think they fit the story very well. Then I found this background and the mermaid. I loved the colors. I chopped the mermaid in half so I could make her tail stick out of the water. That way you could see she was a mermaid. I thought about adding in other mermaids but I didn't want to overcrowd the cover so I just left the one. If you look at my name, you can see it casts a shadow over the water. I thought that was pretty cool. I may update this cover, but for now I love it.


My Twin is a Mermaid is a fantasy. There may be adventure added in. I haven't decided quite sure yet. So far, I'm planning on releasing this book in 2031 so there is plenty of time to get everything figured out. Do you plan your stories ahead of time or do you wing it? I like planning them because my characters do the rest (I follow them around and write down what I see them doing--writing at the seat of my pants lol). They won't let me outline, but I'm okay with that because for me, it's more fun being a panster. I like not knowing what's around the corner and that helps me write so much better!





0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


A.R. Grosjean signature
bottom of page