top of page

K.L. Laettner Interview (from Newsletter April 15)

How did you decide to become a writer? Include age when you began to write.

Wrote poetry as a teenager, began a blog, then began self-publishing at 51 years of age


What genres do you write? Or plan to write in the future?

Women’s fiction, young adult, magical realism


Share an inspirational story you encountered on your writing journey. If you don't have one to share, simply add N/A to the answer.

After finding an antique portrait, I began telling her story and one month later, had written 98k words. It was scary how easily it flowed, and I was floored that I was even capable of writing a novel after only ever writing short stories and poetry.


The most recent release or the next book you're about to release......Share blurb and 5 reasons why someone should read that book. Include a link if already released. If there are any reviews for this book, please include them as well. Hey, those do help lol.

The Sandcastle Society- https://amazon.com/dp/B08TKJXWVS How high will the price of forgiveness be? Three best friends, a sacred bond of sisterhood, and a tragic secret that could tear their world apart. As Vanessa, Tiffany, and Roxanne became The Sandcastle Society on a sandy beach in Venice, Florida, the Eighties were in full swing. Marking their forever bond in blood with a safety pin, trust, and an oath to let nothing come between them, the ceremony cemented their sisterhood in place. Their youth became a whir of big hair, dance music, and teenage crushes. With Duran Duran, Bowie, and Michael Jackson providing the soundtrack to their lives, their younger days were idyllic and almost perfect. But years later, a phone call will change everything. As their worlds unravel in tragic ways, would they find forgiveness in their hearts for the horrific secret released? A wholesome women’s fiction story with a HEA and all the feels you crave. This is by far my best book to date and I am so proud of the characters and the plot twists. I have six, five-star reviews and one four-star. If you love the eighties, friendships, and a clean read, you’ll love this summery beach read. Five stars-I LOVE this author. Her writing style is such that you can feel what the characters feel. I laughed, I cried, I wanted more. It is one of those books you can’t put down. I stayed up half the night just to finish it. I will probably reread it a dozen times. There is something very familiar in this story about friendships. When I thought that I've read the best by this author, The Sandcastle Society emerged full-throttle! Roxi moved to Venice, Florida with her uncle Donnie. She became best and lifelong friends with Van and Tiffany at the age of fifteen, but not without trials. I loved that forgiveness played a huge part in this story. Let me warn you. Have your Kleenex or Puffs on hand as this is a tear jerky with swaying emotions. Great read!!!


Who is your ideal audience? Add all that apply, short or long.

Women twenty and older


What sets you apart from other writers?

My style is unique and easy to read. You slip into the story effortlessly and leave wanting more.


If you have multiple books available, which one is your favorite? And why?

The Sandcastle Society is my newest favorite, and second, would be The Girl Who Captured The Stars and the Diary of a Middle-Aged Mermaid


What does your writing process entail? Planner, pantser? Research required? Editing methods? etc

I’m a pantster and research is always involved to set the music/ events, to be accurate. A lot of what I write is based on personal experience. I type fast and am blessed to rarely leave plot holes. On a good day, I can plow out five to seven thousand words in every writing session. I go in spurts where I may go days without writing, then write for a week solid.


Behind the scenes......Music or no? Any other tactics used in the aid of writing?

If any music, it’s very far in the background, and normally seventies/eighties tunes


What would you tell a new writer to help them get started?

Just start. You don’t know if you don’t try.


Is there anything you would like to add? Any tips or anecdotes you'd like to share? You can use this space to add more information from a previous question. Please include questions so I'm not confused lol.

Always edit. My first book I thought had been good enough. My little sister read it and told me to fire the editor and get my money back. I was mortified, but as a new author, I’ve learned so much on this journey. You never stop learning something new as hints change so quickly. Read your genre, and enjoy the ride.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page