top of page

Fighting Writer's Block

Writer's block doesn't hit every author for every book. But when it does, it can be a pain in the rear end. The most recent block I've had was with Hidden Agenda. For the life of me, I couldn't figure out why the story was getting boring and it stopped me dead in the tracks. I almost tossed the story out.


I don't like giving up on a story. This pushed me into diving into the story to demand why it felt boring. That was when it hit me. This story wasn't intended to have one main character with one plot like most of my stories. This one was different. Once I changed those two main areas of the story, I was back on track! Of course, that meant I had to rewrite what was already there! No problem!


I dove in, and slowly due to time restraints, I began making those changes. Instead of Rick being the main character, now I had to juggle between Rick and Thomas. Two separate stories that were unfolding at different rates! And their paths will connect! Not sure where yet because I haven't reached that point, but it is interesting to see two different lives being affected by two different plots that drive the story.


On one hand, I have a man who gets kidnapped with his wife and loses her, driving him to fight back. On the other hand, I have a thief who loses something very important to another thief. When they cross paths, the two men will learn they have more in common than they thought possible. Hidden truths are discovered. How they react to these truths will impact the rest of their lives. Check out the new blurb for more information about this story!



I'm excited about this book again! I'm so glad I didn't have to toss it!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page