top of page

Family Background--Ancestors

Here's an interesting fact about my family, on my father's side........


My oldest sister had to create our family tree as a class assignment in high school. I wasn't with her when she discovered this information and my grandmother isn't alive to ask her about it so I'm not sure how she knew it, but during the investigation of our family tree, my sister learned that we are related to Samuel Morse. You know, the man who created the morse code? I thought it was the coolest thing because this guy (pictured above) was a writer too. I believe this is where I got it from lol.


On both sides of my family, there is a mix of heritages arranging from English, Irish, German, Swedish, and something else I can never remember.


My new son-in-law's sister did one of those DNA things and she learned that she was 5% black. They are Mexican mostly. She has the same parents as my son-in-law, which means he would have the same DNA markings as she would. Or at least be close. Now my daughter wants to do the DNA testing to find out how much of everything she has in her. Billy, my husband, also has German on his side of the family plus Cherokee Indian. I'm wondering if there's any Asian in there somewhere because then I think we would have everything mixed into our blood somewhere along the lines.


It is actually pretty cool finding out where you come from, seeing all these different sides you didn't know you had. Learning you come from somewhere that you didn't know anything about can actually explain things about yourself. It brings you one step closer to really identify what makes you, you. I love that we're living in a time where we can do that.


What's in your background? Are you related to someone famous? Do you have an ancestor who came over on the Mayflower? Or was part of something else? Or did you have a plain ancestor who should have been noticed but wasn't? Now's the time to give them credit. After all, they are your ancestors. Let's share stories!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page