top of page

A Hobby--Crocheting

One of my favorite hobbies is crocheting. Here are a few of my older projects.



This was my favorite hat and wore it for the longest time. It's a "newsboy" pattern. I followed the pattern to a T and it was the third attempt at this pattern. The first was black and didn't quite look right so I unraveled the yarn and tried again later. The second was black and white and was way too small. It was given to a friend of mine who had a granddaughter that loved my projects. She wore it for a while. I lost track of them. Then I made this one. I was so proud of this hat. I'm not too much into hats but I wore this one proudly. I wish I still had it! I may have to make this again!



This was a two-piece outfit that I made. The top and shorts were made separately and with the same yarn so they'd match. I learned how to make a "bra" top first using a pattern and just added to it. I love making tops with this bra pattern because it fits my body so well. There was even a headband that went with this outfit. I made a lot of them over the years lol. I only made three shorts total. One had pockets in the back with my initials on the pockets. It was black and white. It actually looked better than this pair. The shorts were made from a pattern too. Once I learned how to make them, I had a lot of fun but it was hard because I used string to keep them up. That made taking them off more difficult so I stopped crocheting the shorts.



This was the first and only dress I ever made. It didn't fit me as good as it did my oldest daughter so I gave it to her. She loves dresses. I started out with the "bra" stop and kept crocheting down, changing the pattern in the middle and returned to the first pattern to finish it off. That way, the important things would be covered. I didn't use a specific pattern.






Here are two different tops using my own patterns. When I create my patterns, I don't write them down or really think ahead, I just crochet each stitch and make changes to the next stitch as I see fit. I am constantly stopping and trying on the clothes as I make them so I can be sure they fit. I make adjustments as I go to ensure the fit. I learned that as I learned more along the way. In most cases, I used the single stitch and double stitch to make my clothes. I can remember the first top I ever made. It looked so terrible lol. I didn't keep it, naturally, but I learned so much from it. It was at that time when I started reading books on crochet and their patterns and taught myself how to read them.


Do you crochet? What do you make? How long have you been crocheting? Got anything to share?




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page