top of page

A Day in the Life

Updated: Dec 3, 2023

Being a writer is never boring, at least for me. The things that go through my mind lol. Most days it does make it hard to go to sleep, my mind never rests. Some of it is due to having depression, but a lot of it is because of my imagination. Ideas are always brewing lol. Some of those ideas are for works in progress, some are future projects I have scheduled, and some are ideas that haven't been written down yet. I lose some of those. I hate it when I'm nowhere around a pen and paper to write it down lol.


Okay, so my normal day is usually filled with a lot of different things. I've never had two days that are the same. Some are pretty close--but never exact. That's my new "normal" lol. And it's okay because I'm productive and that's what's important. Right?


I do have a "part-time" job, cleaning rooms in a hotel. I never know how many rooms I'm going to clean until check-out time. I don't take a day off unless no one checks out. It happens but not very often lol. It can take anywhere from 20 minutes to two or three hours to clean all of the rooms on my list. Usually, it's an hour or less. That gives me the rest of the day to do other things. Of course, I'm on call in case someone moves out later on or I'm needed at the front desk (I work in the office too--when needed).


I'm not a morning person at all. It takes me a while to "wake up". With or without coffee. I don't drink it every day. When I do, it's loaded with sugar, which I do need to watch my intake (until Aug when I see my doctor and find out what my new A1C is). I normally play on my tablet to wake up, then off to clean rooms. When I'm finished, I relax for a minute and dive into my real work--the one I enjoy fully. I can sit at my laptop for hours if allowed. When I say allow, I mean if people let me lol. There's always someone needing my attention lol.


Lately, I've been able to get a lot of writing done. Alien Taskforce has been flowing. I participate in NaNoWriMo with every book, keeping track of my word count and such and I record my progress with each book (on the site and in my planner). I focus on 1K per day but I have had several days where I went over, some days more than 2 or 3K. So the word count for this book climbed pretty fast. It is well over 50K now, which was my goal for Nano. Now I am on a new goal, 60K. I'm hoping to push through it. 65K or higher would be totally awesome.


So, when I'm finished with my writing, I like to unwind and watch a little TV. It does give my mind a break. I get pulled into what I'm watching and my mind stays quiet. I recently finished watching Siren (a TV series about Mermaids). I didn't like the ending but the rest of the show was pretty good. It's worth watching. I absorbed it all. It is filed away in my mind, which will probably give me new ideas lol. I pull something from everything around me lol.


I normally eat once a day (one big meal) and then eat smaller amounts throughout the day, when I'm hungry. Usually, after the big meal I'm either watching TV, playing on my tablet, writing, or visiting with friends/family. Sometimes, I'm working (cleaning or at the front desk). And of course, there's always something going on around here that pulls me away from Instagram and Facebook (I visit between everything else), my writing, or just relaxing. The things I could write about lol. But that's what my day usually looks like. Without giving up too much detail lol.


How does your typical day look?





0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page